Cancer Programme Panel list

The funding panel for the SBRI Healthcare Cancer Programme is multidisciplinary, composed of clinical, technical, commercial, implementation experts, representatives from Academic Health Science Networks (AHSNs) and Cancer Alliances, and patients.

Professor Nick Lemoine  



 Barts Cancer Institute 

Among other commitments, he is the Chair of Trustees for the Medical Research Foundation (the MRC’s independent charity), Chair of Trustees for the Global Alliance for Chronic Diseases and Chair of Trustees for the Africa Research Excellence Fund. He is also Chair of the Research Advisory Board for the Pancreatic Cancer Research Fund, as well as Chair of the NIHR i4i Challenge Awards committee.
Dr Neville Young 

(Deputy Chair) 

Director of Enterprise and Innovation 

 Yorkshire and Humber AHSN 

Dr Young holds a PhD in molecular embryology and is experienced with innovative surgical tools, intraoperative imaging systems, novel biosensing diagnostics, nanotechnology and remote monitoring.  
Professor Richard Gilbertson  Li Ka Shing Chair of Oncology, Head of Department of Oncology, Director CRUK Cambridge Major Centre 

University of Cambridge

Gilbertson, a clinician scientist, has expertise in childhood brain tumour biology and treatment and the executive management of large US and UK academic health-science organisations. 
Professor Emma Crosbie  Professor and Honorary Consultant in Gynaecological Oncology 

 University of Manchester

Screening, prevention and early detection of gynaecological cancers.
Dr Christina Messiou  Consultant Radiologist  Oncological imaging, digital health and AI applied to imaging but with broader experience as lead of the digital theme of the RMH/ICR NIHR BRC.
Dr Rosie Loftus  Chief Medical Officer 

The Royal Marsden NHS Trust & Institute of Cancer Research 

GP Principal in Kent from 1989. Macmillan GP from 2001 and  Lead GP Adviser 2003-2013. Appointed Macmillan Joint CMO in 2014 and CMO since 2018.
Professor Rachel Butler  Consultant Clinical Scientist, Operational Director 

SW Genomics Laboratory Hub

Professor Butler is an NHS genomic scientist with considerable experience in the translation and implementation of novel assay s for cancer diagnostics.
Ms Elaine Warburton  Co-Founder and Non-Executive Director 

QuantuMDx Group Ltd

Elaine is a health and diagnostic specialist with expertise in developing and responsibly commercialising novel solutions that help to alleviate global healthcare problems.  
Mr Steven Morris  Founder and Visiting Professor 

Ingram Network Ltd and Bangor University

Mr Morris has led project teams for the Ministry of Defence and delivery major projects for the Royal Navy and the British Army, a co-founder and the Chief Operating Officer of Creo Medical Ltd from 2009 to 2019, which produced CE marked and FDA-cleared products on sale in major global markets.  
Dr Gareth King  Life Science Partner 

Catapult Ventures

A scientist (University of Edinburgh, Harvard Medical School, AstraZeneca), who moved into business development (Incyte, Cyprotex, Quotient) and became a CEO (Critical Pharmaceuticals) and investor (Catapult Ventures).
Mr Mark Campbell  Freelance Consultant 

Independent Expert 

Mr Campbell is an independent healthtech consultant who, until 2019, was responsible for NICE’s medtech evaluation programmes. He has also worked at Director level in an NHS commissioning organisation. 
Professor John Hutton  Non-Executive Director 


Formerly Professor at the University of York and NHS Trust Non-Executive. John has over 35 years’ experience of research, teaching and consulting in health economics and health technology assessment.  
Professor Sam Shah  Director and Founder 

Faculty of Future Health, University of Ulster

Professor Shah has expertise in digital development of the ecosystem, public health, helath policy and digital transformation, and experience in health education and commissioning of services.  
Dr Emma Kipps  Clinical Director,  Medical Oncologist 

RM Partners, Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Kipps is the Clinical Director of RM Partners and is a Medical Oncologist in Breast Cancer.  
Professor Andrée Le-May  Joint Implementation Lead 

University of Southampton, Eat of England Applied Research Collaboration 

Andrée’s expertise lies largely within the fields of implementation, qualitative and participatory research, service development and nursing education.  
John Marshall (PPI)  Patient advocate  John Marshall is a recovered prostate cancer patient and retired nuclear engineer and safety/environmental regulator.  

He has extensive experience in managing research into prostate cancer where he acts as a lay and patient member of the advisory committees on developing health policies and research options.  

Alero Dabor (PPI)  Public Committee member  


Alero Dabor is a breast cancer survivor and advocate. She has extensive experience of patient and public involvement, where the focus is around her added value and insights to research through lived experience. 

She trains and acts as a facilitator for research methods, advising both researchers and public contributors.