Competition 18 – Delivering a Net Zero NHS – Phase 2 – Panel list

The funding panels for SBRI Healthcare are multidisciplinary, comprising clinical, commercial and technical expertise as well as representatives from the Academic Health Science Networks (AHSN) and NHS England.


Mr Stuart Monk (Chair) 

National Programme Director – AAC Programmes at The AHSN Network 

Expertise: Enabling NHS access to business and the spread and adoption of innovation using change methodologies and approaches. 

Drawing on a background in research and science across multiple sectors, Stuart is passionate about the theory and practice underpinning the spread and adoption of healthcare innovation. 


Dr Helen Meese (Deputy Chair) 

CEO at The Care Machine Ltd 

Expertise: Strategic Planning, Operational & Project Management, Tendering & Proposal Preparation, Requirements Capture.
Consultant for Engineering, Design & Manufacture (for medical devices & equipment) and Policy, Advocacy & Public affairs in Healthcare & Medtech. 


Dr Matthew Aiello 

National Programmes Lead (Education Reform) at NHS Health Education England 

Workforce transformation and the transition of NHS innovation into core business – context being the mutli-professional healthcare workforce across NHS sectors in England. 


Professor Theodoros Arvanitis 

Chair in Digital Health Informatics and Director of the Institute of Digital Healthcare at Warwick University 

Clinical Informatics, Health Informatics, Digital Healthcare, Neuroscience, Neuro-imaging, Neuro-oncology, Systems Engineering. 


Mrs Preeya Bailie 

Director of Procurement at NHS England 

Procurement and supply chain 


Mr Swapnil Gadgil 

CEO at Therapy Box Limited 

Co-founder Therapy Box Limited, Neurology. 


Mr Liam Gascoigne-Cohen 

Research Analyst, Healthcare, SP Angel 

S.P. Angel Corporate Finance LLP 

Sell-side analyst responsible for smallcap healthcare research and supporting public/private transactions. BSc Biology from Bristol University and MSc Biotechnology from Imperial College London. 


Dr Janet Hanley 

Associate Professor at Edinburgh Napier University 

Research track record in digital health in general with a current focus on cardiovascular health. NHS background in community nursing and novel health service development. 


Mr Steve Parr 

Healthcare and Medtech Lead at Enterprise M3 Limited 

Medtech, digital health and the NHS. Commercialisation, product R&D, marketing, sales, co. funding, value propositions and market access.  


Dr Clifford Shelton 

Consultant anaesthetist/ Senior Clinical Lecturer at University of Lancaster 

Anaesthesia, critical care, medical education, sustainable healthcare, simulation, qualitative research, ethnography, obstetrics, trauma, resuscitation. 


Mr Russell Watkins 

Commercial Director at Academic Health Science Network for the North East and North Cumbria 

Supporting innovators to take their innovation from idea to adoption and spread ensuring it adds value over and above current practice and improving patient care. 


Dr Nick Watts 

Chief Sustainability Officer at NHSE 

Chief Sustainability Officer of the NHS, responsible for its commitment to deliver a world-class net zero emission health service. 


Dr Laura Fenner 

PPIE Representative 


Dr Rebecca Harmston 

PPIE Representative