Competition 18 – Stroke and Technology – Phase 2 – Panel list

The funding panels for SBRI Healthcare are multidisciplinary, comprising clinical, commercial and technical expertise as well as representatives from the Academic Health Science Networks (AHSN) and NHS England.


Mr Stuart Monk (Chair) 

National Programme Director – AAC Programmes at The AHSN Network 

Expertise: Enabling NHS access to business and the spread and adoption of innovation using change methodologies and approaches. 

Drawing on a background in research and science across multiple sectors, Stuart is passionate about the theory and practice underpinning the spread and adoption of healthcare innovation. 


Dr Helen Meese (Deputy Chair) 

CEO at The Care Machine Ltd 

Expertise: Strategic Planning, Operational & Project Management, Tendering & Proposal Preparation, Requirements Capture.
Consultant for Engineering, Design & Manufacture (for medical devices & equipment) and Policy, Advocacy & Public affairs in Healthcare & Medtech. 


Mr Darrien Bold 

National Digital and AI Lead for Stroke at NHS England 

Digital transformation and improvement specialist with a keen interest for connecting people and information seamlessly, safely and innovatively. 


Dr Hilary Fanning 

Director of Research Development and Innovation at University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust 

Assessment of pre-regulation device utility for adoption into clinical and operational pathways, Management of change processes, transition of novel into Business as usual. 


Dr Rebecca Fisher 

Principal Research Fellow, University of Nottingham 

Stroke rehabilitation, early supported discharge, service development, implementation, health services research. Implementation and evaluation of complex interventions in real world settings. 


Mr Swapnil Gadgil 

CEO at Therapy Box Limited 

Co-founder Therapy Box Limited, Neurology. 


Mr Liam Gascoigne-Cohen 

Research Analyst, Healthcare, SP Angel 

S.P. Angel Corporate Finance LLP 

Sell-side analyst responsible for smallcap healthcare research and supporting public/private transactions. BSc Biology from Bristol University and MSc Biotechnology from Imperial College London. 


Dr David Hargroves 

Consultant Physician and Clinical Lead for Stroke Medicine at East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust 

Consultant for over 10 years with expertise in hyper acute stroke care and medicine, and imaging in stroke care. 


Professor Liudi Jiang 

Professor of Materials and Electromechanical Systems at University of Southampton 

Biomedical devices, rehabilitation engineering, intelligent sensors, biomechanics, body interface systems and digital health. 


Professor Roma Maguire 

Professor of Digital Health and Care at University of Strathclyde 

Digital health/care, remote patient monitoring, clinical decision support, patient experience, evidence based care, cancer, chronic disease, dementia. Human factors, AI Digital health implementation/evaluation. 


Mr Steve Parr 

Healthcare and Medtech Lead at Enterprise M3 Limited 

Medtech, digital health and the NHS. Commercialisation, product R&D, marketing, sales, co. funding, value propositions and market access.  


Professor Valerie Pomeroy 

Professor of Neurorehabilitation at University of East Anglia 

Stroke rehabilitation, physiotherapy and movement analysis. 


Professor Tony Young 

National Clinical Lead for Innovation at IRLS, NHSE 

Clinical Speciality Urology. 

Expertise: All aspects of healthcare and life science innovation and has acted as external examiner for PhD’s in ML at UCL. 


Mr Lee Callaghan 

PPIE Representative 


Mr Jeremy Dearling 

PPIE Representative