Competition 19 – Competition 19 – Mental Health Inequalities in Children and Young People – Phase 3 – Panel list

The funding panels for SBRI Healthcare are multidisciplinary, comprising clinical, commercial and technical expertise as well as representatives from the Academic Health Science Networks (AHSN) and NHS England.


Dr Liz Mear (Chair)

Managing Director – Leeds Academic Health Partnership

Non-Executive Director – Health Education England

Dr Mear’s career spans NHS, councils, universities and private sector. She was an NHS Chief for about 10 years and held national roles supporting development/deployment of products and services that improve lives.


Dr Terry Parlett (Deputy Chair)

Commercialisation Director – Cambridge Enterprise Limited

Intellectual Property, Tech-Transfer, Spin-outs and Investments, Business Development, Partnerships, Innovation, Medical Devices, Therapeutics, Vaccines, Software, Data, Healthcare and Life Sciences sectors.


Mr Nick Allen

Industry Procurement Adviser – Health Innovation Manchester

Ex Head of Procurement now Industry Procurement Adviser Health Innovation Manchester.


Professor Prathiba Chitsabesan

Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist – Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust

National Specialty Advisor – NHS England and NHS Improvement

Prathiba is a Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist working in a large mental health trust in Greater Manchester. She is a national specialty advisor (Children and Young People’s Mental Health) for NHS England is research active as a Visiting Professor (Manchester Metropolitan University).



Dr Des Holden

Medical Director – Kent Surrey Sussex AHSN

Chief of Innovation – Surrey and Sussex Healthcare Trust

Implementation Lead – NIHR ARC Kent Surrey Sussex

Des has 10 years’ experience as an acute hospital medical director, and has been with KSS AHSN since first licensed and leads implementation research for the Applied Research Collaboration. He is a Board member of SEHTA and an international advisor to Public Intelligence in Southern Denmark.


Dr Ayla Humphrey

Consultant Clinical Psychologist and Children and Young People’s Psychology Lead – Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust

Affiliated Lecturer – University of Cambridge

Ayla is the lead Child and Adolescent Psychologist for Cambridge and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust and affiliated lecturer in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Cambridge.



Dr Bethany Shinkins

Associate Professor – University of Leeds

Bethany leads a multi-disciplinary team who focus on the evaluation of medical tests. She is a statistician by background and now works as a statistician and health economist. She is also Associate Director of the NIHR Leeds In Vitro Diagnostics Co-operative.


Dr Rebecca Todd

Investment Director – Longwall Ventures

Medical / healthcare technology – Venture capital.


Ms Luella Trickett

Director, Value & Access – Association of British HealthTech Industries Ltd

Over 25 years in the Life Sciences industry.


Ms Lesley Soden

Programme Director Innovation – Health Innovation Network

Lesley has over 20 years’ experience in the NHS and the public sector working in senior business & strategy roles in the NHS within mental health and community NHS services and programme management roles within a local authority.


Dr Tracey Vell

Clinical Director – Health Innovation Manchester

Tracey has worked in general practice for 27 years, and is now a executive medical director for primary care for the GM health and Social Care Partnership. Tracey took on the role of medical director for Health Innovation Manchester to spread innovation across health and care settings.


Ms Charlotte Williams

Chief Strategy and Improvement Officer – Mid & South Essex NHS Foundation Trust

Charlotte is a member of the Trust Board and leads on quality improvement and innovation, planning and system and service redesign, clinical service strategy, system-wide transformation, and strategic intelligence. Charlotte leads the MSE Partners function to support change across the ICS, incorporating health, local authority and the third sectors.


Miss Rosie Forder