Skip to content
Close menu


Panel members, Competition 22, Phase 1, Net Zero

Ms Kathy Scott (Chair)
Deputy Chief Executive at Yorkshire and Humber AHSN
Supports the development of innovation from idea to adoption into the NHS. Central Government and NHS innovation policy experience.

Dr Ayokunmi Ajetunmobi (Deputy Chair)
Director of Venture Development at Pioneer Group
Dr Ayokunmi Ajetunmobi (AJ) oversees venture building activity at Pioneer Group which supports the emergence of breakthrough life sciences startups across the UK & Ireland.

Professor Theodoros Arvanitis
Chair in Digital Health Informatics and Director of the Institute of Digital Healthcare at Warwick University
Clinical Informatics, Health Informatics, Digital Healthcare, Neuroscience, Neuro-imaging, Neuro-oncology, Systems Engineering.

Ms Emma Bland
Assoc Professor of Practice at University of Exeter
Experienced in building trans-disciplinary applied research projects across public, private, and not-for-profit sectors in health and wellbeing, climate change, housing and digital technologies, exploring issues of vulnerability, exclusion and inequality.

Professor David Brettle
Chief Scientific Officer at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Medical Physics, Innovation, image processing, digital pathology, radiation protection, 3d printing.

Dr Paul Durrands
Chief Operating Officer at Oxford Academic Health Science Network
Governance, business planning, environmental sustainability and partnerships with integrated care systems. Extensive commercial background, with international experience of licensing, contracting and mergers and acquisitions.

Dr Austen El-Osta
Director (Self-Care Academic Research Unit) at Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
Primary Care & Public Health Self-Care Trial design Study Management.

Mr Stuart Ferguson
Investment Partner at Sustainable Ventures
An investor with specific expertise in early-stage net zero and impact-led technologies.

Mrs Nicky Houghton
Senior Policy Manager (Personalised Care Group) at NHSE
Clinical background Acute and Community (Registered General and Sick Children Nurse) and Senior commissioning experience for a CCG.

Mrs Cleo Kenington
Consultant Emergency General Surgery & Major Trauma at St George’s University Hospitals, NHS Foundation Trust
Cleo Kenington is the sustainability lead for the ASGBI. She also has a special interest in developing ambulatory care for general surgery patients.

Dr Natalia Kurek
Senior Clinical Lead, Greener NHS National Programme at NHSE
Climate change and health.

Dr Marie Labus
Chief Executive Office at AMLo Biosciences Limited
Experienced Biochemist/Immunologist with particular expertise in IVD development and commercialisation. Significant experience in identification, management, and commercialisation of intellectual property.

Professor Leandro Pecchia
Professor of Biomedical Engineering at University of Warwick, UK
Medical Devices, Health Technology Assessment, Engineering for Global Development Goals.

Ms Wendy Rayner
Head of Circular Economy Programme at NHS Scotland
Lead in circular economy, waste and resource management. Fellow of Institute of Waste and Resource Management with a Global MBA.

Mrs Amy Anderson
PPIE Representative
Amy’s background is carrer advocacy. She is NHS Grampian’s non-executive lead for public engagement and voted Best Patient Reviewer for the BMJ 2020 and 2021.

Dr Rebecca Harmston
PPIE Representative
Patient involvement, carrer, autism, mental health, Crohn’s disease, inflammatory bowel disease, high risk pregnancy, allergies, reflux.


Subscribe to the SBRI Healthcare newsletter and receive the latest competition information & latest news updates.