Skip to content
Close menu


Panel members, Competition 22, Phase 2, Delivering a net zero NHS: Clinical Innovation Competition

Ms Kathy Scott (Chair)
Deputy Chief Executive at Yorkshire and Humber AHSN
Supports the development of innovation from idea to adoption into the NHS. Central Government and NHS innovation policy experience.

Dr Ayokunmi Ajetunmobi (Co-Chair)
Director of Venture Development at Pioneer Group
Dr Ayokunmi Ajetunmobi (AJ) oversees venture building activity at Pioneer Group, supporting over 100 healthcare startups that have raised over £300 million in funding to date.

Professor Theodoros Arvanitis
Chair in Digital Health Informatics and Director of the Institute of Digital Healthcare at Warwick University
Clinical Informatics, Health Informatics, Digital Healthcare, Neuroscience, Neuro-imaging, Neuro-oncology, Systems Engineering.

Mr James Dixon
Associate Director – Sustainability at The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Chartered Environmentalist with over 20 years’ experience, including over a decade of healthcare sustainability expertise in one of the largest Trusts in the NHS.

Mr Stuart Ferguson
Investment Partner at Sustainable Ventures
An investor with specific expertise in early-stage net zero and impact-led technologies.

Ms Alexandra Hammond
Head of Sustainable Procurement and Supply Chain at NHS England
Alexandra leads on sustainable procurement for the NHS, and has 15 years’ experience delivering sustainable solutions in healthcare. She leads the implementation of the NHS Net Zero Supplier Roadmap and the Evergreen Sustainable Supplier Assessment, which form the policy framework for tackling the NHS’s scope 3 emissions.

Mr Rob Marsh
Growth Director at Green Rewards Limited (trading as: Jump)
Growth Director at sustainability engagement business Jump; I have over 10 years of experience in business development, employee engagement, sustainability, and social entrepreneurship.

Ms Nicky Philpott
Deputy Director at NHS England
Deputy Director of the Greener NHS programme responsible for research and innovation, net zero clinical transformation and communications and engagement.

Ms Wendy Rayner
Head of NHS Scotland Circular Economy Programme at Scottish Government
Lead in circular economy, waste and resource management. Fellow of Institute of Waste and Resource Management with a Global MBA.

Dr Philip Shelton
Principal Advisor (Commercial) & Sustainability Lead at Eastern AHSN
With over 25 years’ experience in pharmaceutical, NHS and commercial digital health environments, Phil is focusing on supporting companies with a lens on net zero.

Ms Rachel Surtees
Director of Implementation at UCL Partners
Rachel’s background is in strategy and change in the NHS and local government. She leads UCLPartners’ climate collaborative, working to accelerate de-carbonisation of the NHS.

Ms Susie Vernon
Associate Director Sustainability at Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust
Susie heads up SCFT’s Care Without Carbon team, delivering and embedding sustainability programmes within NHS trusts and organisations across Sussex and the southeast.

Mrs Amy Anderson
PPIE Representative
Amy’s background is in health and social care advocacy. She is involved in developing supports for people with cancer in the North of Scotland.

Mr Matthew Riley
PPIE Representative
Lived experience of community and inpatient mental health services with a particular focus on LGBTQIA+ and net zero healthcare.


Subscribe to the SBRI Healthcare newsletter and receive the latest competition information & latest news updates.